First Weekend Update

Well we are officially true DIY-ers! We did our first full demo (demolition for those not up on the DIY terms, MOM) this weekend on the master bathroom! You saw the before of our master bath, well now there is no longer anything that resembles the before.

We had a 10×10 dumpster delivered to the house Friday afternoon, yes it makes us look so cool! Well the dumpster company is a bit special, one they parked it on the wrong side of the driveway and they do not win for the best parking job, it’s not very straight!

We started bright and early Saturday morning on getting all the little things out of the bathroom. Then the fun part started DEMO! My husband is so smart, he took out the door first to make things a little easier, we now have black plastic up to keep the dust out of our bedroom.


Of course, I had to put on my new pink work gloves, yes they do make your swing harder, work faster and look better!

 

Next we tackled the short sized vanity, that baby was not going anywhere without a fight, but don’t worry we are pretty strong!

Yeah, that was one of the heaviest things I have ever carried and I am sure the husband carried most of the weight 🙂

Next up was tile, I tried to help getting the tile up but I seem to be much better as clean up lady! Matt did all the hard work! We decided to skip renting the chisel and use hand tools, well my arm was on fire the few times I tried to get that stubborn tile up!

I had to take a short little break mid demo day to hang out with my sister-in-law, ( I promise I have had this planned for a month). I was in shock with everything that Matt, and a few friends that stopped by, had accomplished while I was gone!

Yeah no more glass block!

ARE YOU SERIOUS! Who paints over pink wallpaper!!! Ugh, we now have decided to take out all the sheet rock (update on that soon)

The seat in the shower was filled with cinder blocks and bricks! It weighed a ton! Whoever built this thing didn’t want it to go anywhere! Thanks for your help and hard work Winston!

This is the bathroom at the end of day 2! You can tell the one thing that looks the same is the tub that we are keeping, but it will get an update to fit in with the new bathroom.

It’s been a long weekend and we have  a few tasks to get done this week so we can be ready for next weekend! I am out of town and Matt has a full weekend of work with Winston.

What do you think?

9 thoughts on “First Weekend Update

  1. Wow! I am so proud of you guys. As you know, I’m thinking of doing some work on our little bathroom in the hall. I will be watching your progress and hoping to get inspired!! Love you guys. Keep up the good work.

  2. Pingback: We hit 100! « m & k rowell

Leave a Reply

